Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Saint Mary’s presents service awards to students, faculty, staff

WINONA, Minn. — Saint Mary’s University recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff Thursday, April 7, at the Student Life Awards Ceremony. Several awards were handed out to students who made a noticeable impact on student life at SMU. Awards included:

Brother Finbar McMullen Award (presented to an SMU community member who demonstrates him/herself to be an individual who unselfishly meets the needs of the undergraduate students of Saint Mary’s) — Dr. Marilyn Frost, vice president for academic affairs and psychology professor, of Winona.

Charlene “Char” Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award — Margaret Scannell, daughter of Thomas and Carole Scannell of Evergreen Park, Ill.

Club and Organization Advisor of the Year
— Brendan Dolan, Residence Hall director and area coordinator.

Organization of the Year — Big and Little Pals of Campus Ministry, accepted by Melissa Stuckmayer, daughter of Robert and Sharon Stuckmayer of Ramsey, Minn., and Allison Johnson, daughter of Richard and Michele Johnson of Austin, Minn.

Intramural Official of the Year
— Chelsea Deering, daughter of Doreen Ableman of Wisconsin Dells, Wis.

Volunteer of the Year Award
— Rachel Elbert, daughter of John and Irene Elbert of Cedar Falls, Iowa.

Outstanding Student Senator of the Year Award — Daniel Streefland, son of Tom and Deb Streefland of Webster, Minn.

Winona Community Service Award — Daniel Streefland, son of Tom and Deb Streefland of Webster, Minn.

Brother James Miller Award (presented to a student who has dedicated his/her college experience to promoting the legacy of Brother James Miller, spreading the compassion of God and continually serving the community) — Santiago Escobar, son of Santiago Escobar Velasco and Francia Acevedó of Madelia, Minn.

Student Service Award — Kaitlin Wermerskirchen, daughter of Daniel and Laura Wermerskirchen of Shakopee, Minn.

Outdoor Leadership Recognition — Greg Freeman, son of James and Joann Freeman of Aurora, Ill.

Brother Charlie Burke Award (presented to a faculty or staff member who has made significant contributions to the entire Student Life Department. This individual has promoted the growth of the whole student through their exemplary standard of ethical service, dedication to creating developmental relationships, and their desire to promote lifelong learning) — Francis “Fritz” Speck, director of Information Technology.