Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts now taking summer registration

WINONA, Minn. — The Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts offers programming in dance, music, visual art and theatre year-round. Classes, lessons, workshops and camps are offered for youth ages 3 and older and adults at the Valéncia Arts Center, located at 1164 West 10th St.

Registration for summer camps is going on now. Check out the new programming. Offerings include:

• (New) Sing It Out: Glee Summer School Camp
• Dance programming in ballet, pointe, modern, jazz, hip hop, lyrical and tap.
• Adult guitar classes
• (NEW)My Grownup and Me: Creative Music and Movement class in July
• Private Music Lessons
• (NEW) Winona Arts Camps
• Theatre and dance camps

Class days, times and tuition vary.  Financial need-based scholarships are available. For a brochure and a complete listing, visit www.mnconservatoryforthearts.org , e-mail mca@smumn.edu, “Like” the MCA on Facebook or call (507) 453-5500. Interested students may register online, by mail, or in person at MCA’s Valéncia Arts Center.

This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a Minnesota State Arts Board Operating Support grant, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.

Monday, May 20, 2013

Saint Mary's University honors Michael Johanns with honorary degree

Sen. Michael Johanns receives an honorary doctorate from Brother William Mann,  president of Saint Mary's University.
WINONA, Minn. — In recognition of his lifetime of work as a public servant, U.S. Sen. Michael Johanns (R-Neb.), a 1971 Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota alumnus, was presented with an honorary doctorate by Saint Mary’s at its Winona campus commencement ceremony May 11. Sen. Johanns was awarded a Doctor of Laws degree, honoris causa, for more than 30 years of distinguished service to society as mayor of Lincoln, governor of Nebraska, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, and U.S. Senator. The Saint Mary’s citation noted that Sen. Johanns has “exemplified the characteristics of service and ethical leadership that this university strives to develop in all of its students and, by a life admirably dedicated in service of the common good, has brought honor and credit to his alma mater.”

Tuesday, May 07, 2013

Steven E. Titus named president of Iowa Wesleyan College

INONA, Minn. — Dr. Steven E. Titus, Senior Vice President, University Advancement at Saint Mary’s University, has been selected as the next President of Iowa Wesleyan College, a four-year liberal arts college in Mount Pleasant, Iowa.

Titus joined Saint Mary’s University in September 2010. During his tenure, he led the re-organization of the University Advancement division, which aligned the disciplines of development, alumni relations, marketing and external relations of both the undergraduate college and the Schools of Graduate and Professional Programs.

As senior vice president and co-chair of the Centennial Celebration, Titus led the planning and execution of the year-long campaign which connected an unprecedented number of alumni and friends of the university to the transforming heritage of Saint Mary’s.

Also during his tenure, Titus contributed, as one of the university vice presidents, to the creation and adoption of Strategic Plan 2017 — the university’s first comprehensive strategic plan in over a decade — which boldly charts a direction for Saint Mary’s as it begins its second century.

“Dr. Titus is a talented leader in higher education. It has been clear, since the time of his arrival, that he wanted to return to the presidency of a liberal arts college,” said Brother President William Mann. “To have members of our university leadership considered for presidential posts at other institutions also speaks to the strength of the Saint Mary’s leadership team. We are grateful that we’ve had him with us to guide a successful centennial celebration, and wish him much success as this new chapter in his life opens.”

Titus will continue to serve Saint Mary’s through July 2013.

Monday, May 06, 2013

Saint Mary’s presents service awards to students, faculty, staff

WINONA, Minn. — Saint Mary’s University recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff Wednesday, May 1, at the Student Life Awards Ceremony. Individuals who have exhibited outstanding leadership and service through co-curricular activities at Saint Mary’s were recognized.

Awards included:

Brother Finbar McMullen Award (presented to an SMU community member who demonstrates him/herself to be an individual who unselfishly meets the needs of the undergraduate students of Saint Mary’s) — Rob Gordon, assistant professor, computer science

Charlene “Char” Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award — Marilyn Yennie, daughter of Tom and Kim Yennie, Grand Meadow, Minn.

Intramural Official of the Year — Sara Schoenthaler, daughter of Sandra Schoenthaler, White Bear Lake, Minn.

Outdoor Leadership Recognition — John O’Neill, son of Dan O’Neill, Chicago

Club/Organization of the Year — SOUL (Serving Others United in Love)

Outstanding Student Senator of the Year Award — Thomas Iven, son of Michael and Corinne Iven, Rockford, Ill.

Club and Organization Advisor of the Year — Charissa Jakusz, graduate assistant hall director

Winona Community Service Award — Jacinta Jude, daughter of Peter and Anna Maria Jude, Maple Lake, Minn.

Saint Benilde Award (presented to students who reach out to new members of the university community, are inclusive and inspiring, and lead by being hospitable, open and accepting) — Jamie Cooper, son of Robert and Cathy Cooper, La Crosse, Wis.

Brother James Miller Award (presented to a student who has dedicated his/her college experience to promoting the legacy of Brother James Miller, spreading the compassion of God and continually serving the community)
— Lorelle Brune, daughter of Sam and Sheila Brune, Sterling, Ill.

Brother Charlie Burke Award (presented to a faculty or staff member who has made significant contributions to the entire Student Life Department. This individual has promoted the growth of the whole student through their exemplary standard of ethical service, dedication to creating developmental relationships, and their desire to promote lifelong learning)
— Dr. Joseph Tadie, assistant professor of philosophy

Student Service Award — Riley Sinn, son of Philip and Ruth Sinn, Apple Valley, Minn.

Leadership Certificate (presented to students who have completed the co-curricular program designed to give both emerging and advanced leaders the skills and knowledge to enhance his or her leadership development) — Caroline Blackwood, daughter of Eric and Ann Blackwood, Norwalk, Ohio; Miranda Cole, daughter of Jack and Michelle Cole, Barrington, N.H.; Anne Colling, daughter of Thomas and Suzanne Colling, Jordan, Minn.; Kirsten Evans, daughter of Christopher and Kelly Evans, Glenwood, Minn.; Kelli Harstad, daughter of Thomas and Susan Harstad, Hampton, Minn.; Nelson Hough, son of George and Patsy Hough, Long Prairie, Minn.; Jackie Jones, daughter of Joel and Eleanor Jones, Shoreview, Minn.; Kubwayo Wilson, son of Elie Nitunga and Nzeyimana Karitas, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Stephanie Olvera, daughter of Jose and Maria Olvera, Cicero, Ill.; Katarzyna Plawiak, Nowogrodziec, Poland; Serica Rowley, Dubuque, Iowa; Elizabeth Schmidt, daughter of Jerome and Kathy Schmidt, Plainview, Minn.; and Brian Thomas, son of Sharisse Thomas, Bellwood, Ill.