Thursday, November 18, 2010

High School Challenge season continues Saturday

WINONA, Minn. — The Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota High School Challenge continues with Round 1C 9 a.m., Saturday, Nov. 20, in the World Room, located in the SMU Hendrickson Center. The 2010-11 season marks the 40th year of the longest running, locally produced television program showcasing Eastern Minnesota, Western Wisconsin, and Northeast Iowa high school students in an educational forum.

High School Challenge is a contest in which high schools compete to correctly answer questions dealing with high school subjects, general information and current events. Thirty-two teams compete in winner and consolation bracket tournaments at Saint Mary’s. The final eight games of the tournament are taped at SMU and are televised on Fox 25 La Crosse and Fox 48 Eau Claire.

High school students receive scholarships to Saint Mary’s for participating in High School Challenge. Schools that win their first game receive $2,000 scholarships to SMU. Schools that lose their first game receive $1,000 scholarships to SMU. These scholarships are for any member of the senior class with a B or above average.

The following schools will participate: West Salem, Winona Senior High, Onalaska, Holmen, DeSoto, Blair-Taylor, Cotter (White team) and Riceville.

Teams that win their afternoon game will return Dec. 4 for the Consolation Championship games with Logan (White team), Cotter, Bangor, Weston and Eau Claire Regis (White team). Teams that win their morning and afternoon games will return Feb. 19 for the Super Challenge Championship with Logan (Red team), LaCrescent, Lewiston-Altura, Osseo-Fairchild and Eau Claire Regis (Green team).

For more information, contact Nicole Witt Gerdes, High School Challenge coordinator, at or (507) 457-1761.