Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Laws of Life essay contest winners awarded April 28

Amol Parmar, Yuan Yang and Britta Nelson, the Platinum and Gold Award winners, are pictured separately.

Each year students at Winona schools submit essays that reflect on the values, ideals and principles that mean the most to them in the annual Laws of Life essay contest, organized by Saint Mary’s University and sponsored by Winona-area businesses and organizations.

Winners of individual categories — announced April 28 — receive cash and or varying-level renewable scholarships to Saint Mary’s.

The Laws of Life Essay Contest was founded in 1987 by Sir John Templeton of the John Templeton Foundation. This foundation is committed to advancing a broad spectrum of activities, including studies, award programs and publications that promote the character development of young people in secondary schools, colleges, and universities.

In 1996, William Schuler approached Saint Mary's University to begin this contest at Winona Senior High and Cotter High School, adding Hope Lutheran in 2009. This event is made possible with his help, and the help of many other generous supporters — including Merchants Bank, William and Barbara Schuler, Junto Club, American Legion Post No. 9, Dr. Thomas and Leone Mauszycki, Dr. Roger and Peggy Zehren, Fred Fletcher and Shelly Smith-Fletcher, Zehren Dental (Dr. Peter and Kimberly Zehren), Neil and Ann Sawyer, the Winona Area Retired Educators Association, Fred and Marilyn Foss, Severson Oil, Darrell and Angela Ehrlick, Tony and Kathy Piscitiello, Green Mill Restaurant & Bar, William Miller Scrap Iron & Metal Co., Dr. Mark and Melissa Martin, and Paul and Lori Ness.

This year’s winners are:
• Platinum — Amol Parmar, Cotter High School ($1,000 cash and a $3,000 SMU scholarship).
• Gold — Yuan Yang, Cotter; and Britta Nelson, Winona Senior High School ($400 cash and a $2,000 SMU scholarship)
• Silver — Katie Denzer, Cotter; Jose Gomez, Winona Senior High School; and Lacey Ellinghuysen, Hope Lutheran High School ($200 cash and a $1,000 SMU scholarship).
• Blue ribbon awards — Emilio Taiveaho, Qianhan Liu and Chang Yi Mu, Cotter; and Tony Vang, Yia Hang and Jenna Amundson, Winona Senior High ($100 cash prize).
• English class awards — Zi Hui Liu, Julie Yang, Ian Schultz, Courtney Brendel and Joana Beyer, Cotter; and Vang Lee Yang, Winona Senior High ($50 savings bond from Merchants National Bank).

Silver Award winners: Katie Denzer, left, and Lacey Ellinghuysen. Not pictured is Jose Gomez.

WSHS blue ribbon winners: Yia Hang, left, Jenna Amundson, center, and Tony Vang.

Cotter blue ribbon winners: Qianhan Liu, left; Chang Yi Mu, center; and Emilio Taiveaho.

English award winners (from left): back, Joana Beyer and Ian Schultz; front, Courtney Brendel, Julie Yang, Zi Hui Liu, and Vang Lee Yang.