Wednesday, April 21, 2010

SMU students participate in Mayo Scholars Program

WINONA, Minn. — Nine Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota students were chosen to participate in the educational opportunity of a lifetime through the Mayo Innovation Scholars Program. For the past five months, these students contributed to innovative medical research, associated with the world’s most prestigious health care system.

The Mayo Innovation Scholars Program, now in its fourth year, offers an opportunity for selected MBA students and undergraduate science and business students to research projects submitted by Mayo Clinic professionals through the Mayo Clinic Office of Intellectual Property and coordinated through MPCC.

The program connects students from biology, chemistry, math, physics, pre-med and business and helps prepare them for careers in hospitals, medical research institutions and health care agencies.

Saint Mary’s program participants included business majors Boya Hu, Brittany Peterson, Agnieszka Kadej and Matt Wilgenbusch; computer science major Emily Friedl; and biological sciences majors Melissa Wolf, Caitlin O’Connor, Phil Thomas and Thomas Briese.